Bitcoin course to be taught at two US universities

us universities

The two major US universities, New York University and Duke University, are among the first ones to offer Bitcoin course to their business and law school students.

The first introductory lecture (of 14) of the course called “The Law and Business of Bitcoin and Other Cryptocurrencies” was given by Law Professor Jeffrey Miller and attended by 35 students.

The course is co-taught with David Yermack, a Professor of Finance at the NYU Stern School of Business. According to Yermack, the course aims at analyzing the impact of cryptocurrencies on the fundamental principles underlying the present concepts of law and finance.

NYU is being caught up with Duke University’s finance professor Campbell Harvey, also offering his students a full course in digital currencies. The course offered to computer science department students, as well as law school and business school students, is called “Innovation, Disruption and Cryptoventures” will focus on the potential of businesses using the blockchain.

It is noteworthy that Fred Ehrsam, the co-founder of Coinbase, is a 2010 graduate of Duke University.

Even now, preparing for the new courses, NYU and Duke University professors say they still lack scientists involved in cryptocurrency research. David Yermack noted that due to the small number of peer-reviewed scientific articles on Bitcoin published establishing the curriculum of the Bitcoin course was really challenging.

Campbell Harvey believes that the blockchain potential is marred by the lack of basic understanding of its practical application scenarios, and therefore scientists and academics must not ridicule cryptocurrencies (as economists Krugman and Shiller do), but rather struggle to study it in order to arrive at what can be called a merely objective and impartial conception.

Both universities are among the US TOP-10 in national and world rankings. Several other universities are also ready to offer post-graduate and other Bitcoin course programs. Among them are the University of Nicosia in Cyprus and the British University of Cumbria.